Prizes are awarded annually at the Spring Revel by the Editorial Committee of the Board of The Paris Review.

The Paris Review Hadada Award

The Hadada Award is presented each year to “a distinguished member of the writing community who has made a strong and unique contribution to literature.” Previous recipients of the Hadada include John Ashbery, Joan Didion (shown above), Paula Fox, Norman Mailer, Peter Matthiessen, George Plimpton (posthumously), Barney Rosset, Philip Roth, Norman Rush, James Salter, Frederick Seidel, Robert Silvers, and William Styron.

The Plimpton Prize for Fiction

The Plimpton Prize for Fiction is an award of $10,000 given to a new voice published in The Paris Review. The prize is named for the Review’s longtime editor George Plimpton and reflects his commitment to discovering new writers of exceptional merit. Past recipients include April Ayers Lawson, Amie Barrodale, Jesse Ball, Emma Cline, Caitlin Horrocks, Atticus Lish, Alistair Morgan, Ottessa Moshfegh (shown above), and Benjamin Percy.

The Susannah Hunnewell Prize

The Susannah Hunnewell Prize is an award of $15,000, which honors a writer for an outstanding piece of prose or poetry published by the Review in the previous calendar year. The prize was established in 2023 in memory of Hunnewell, who joined the Review as an intern during George Plimpton’s tenure. She remained associated with the magazine for thirty years, serving as its Paris editor and later as its publisher from 2015 until her death in 2019. 

Winners of The Paris Review Hadada
  • Tobias Wolff
  • Vivian Gornick
  • Jamaica Kincaid
  • N. Scott Momaday
  • Richard Ford
  • Deborah Eisenberg
  • Joy Williams
  • Richard Howard
  • Lydia Davis
  • Norman Rush
  • Frederick Seidel
  • Paula Fox
  • Robert Silvers
  • James Salter
  • Philip Roth
  • John Ashbery
  • Peter Matthiessen
  • Norman Mailer
  • Joan Didion
  • George Plimpton
  • William Styron
  • Barney Rosset
Winners of The Plimpton Prize for Fiction
Winners of The Susannah Hunnewell Prize
  • Caleb Crain

    Issue 244, for “The Letter”

  • Ishion Hutchinson

    Issue 239, for “Women Sweeping”

Winners of The Terry Southern Prize for Humor
  • Leigh Newman
  • Benjamin Nugent
  • David Sedaris
  • Vanessa Davis
  • Chris Bachelder
  • Mark Leyner
  • Ben Lerner
  • J. D. Daniels
  • Adam Wilson
  • Elif Batuman
Winners of The Aga Khan Prize
  • Annie Proulx

    Issue 171, “The Wamsutter Wolf” 

  • Michael Chabon

    Issue 166, for "The Final Solution" 

  • Denis Johnson

    Issue 162, for “Train Dreams” 

  • Maile Meloy

    Issue 158, “Aqua Boulevard” 

  • Marcel Moring

    Issue 155, “East Bergholt” 

  • Robert Antoni

    Issue 152, “My Grandmother's Tale of How Crab-o Lost His Head” 

  • Will Self

    Issue 146, “Tough Tough Toys for Tough Tough Boys” 

  • David Foster Wallace

    Issue 144, “Brief Interviews with Hideous Men #6” 

  • Patricia Eakins,

    Issue 140, “The Garden of Fishes” 

  • A. S. Byatt

    Issue 133, “The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye” 

  • Rick Moody

    Issue 131, “The Ring of Brightest Angels around Heaven” 

  • Charles D'Ambrosio

    Issue 126, “Her Real Name” 

  • Joanna Scott

    Issue 123, “A Borderline Case” 

  • Jeffrey Eugenides

    Issue 117, “The Virgin Suicides” 

  • Larry Woiwode

    Issue 114, “Summer Storms” 

  • John Banville

    Issue 113, “The Book of Evidence” 

  • Ben Okri

    Issue 105, “The Dream-Vendor's August” 

  • Michael Covino

    Issue 94, “Monologue of the Movie Mogul” 

  • Norman Rush

    Issue 93, “Instruments of Seduction” 

  • Charlie Smith

    Issue 88, “Crystal River” 

  • T. Coraghessan Boyle

    Issue 84, “Greasy Lake” 

  • Norman Lock

    Issue 76, “The Love of Stanley Marvel & Claire Moon” 

  • Dallas Wiebe

    Issue 73, “Night Flight to Stockholm” 

  • C. W. Gusewelle

    Issue 70, “Horst Wessel” 

  • Bart Midwood

    Issue 66, “John O'Neill versus the Crown” 

  • David Evanier

    Issue 61, “Cancer of the Testicles” 

  • Lamar Herrin

    Issue 59, “The Rio Loja Ringmaster” 

  • Paul West

    Issue 57, “Tan Salaam” 

  • Christina Stead

    Issue 40, “George” 

  • Jeremy Larner

    Issue 33, “Oh, the Wonder!” 

  • Albert Guerard

    Issue 28, “The Lusts & Gratification of Andrada” 

  • Thomas Whitbread

    Issue 24, “The Rememberer” 

  • Philip Roth

    Issue 19, “Epstein” 

  • Gina Berriault

    Issue 12, “Around the Dear Ruin” 

  • John Langdon

    Issue 12, “The Blue Serge Suit” 

  • Owen Dodson

    Issue 12, “The Summer Fire” (2nd Prize)

Winners of The Bernard F. Conners Prize for Poetry
  • Jeremy Glazler and Danielle Pieratti

    Jeremy Glazier, Issue, 170, “Conversations with the Sidereal Messenger,” and Danielle Pieratti, Issue 170, Five Poems. 

  • Julie Sheehan

    Issue 167, for “Brown-headed Cow Birds” 

  • Timothy Donnelly

    Issue 164, “His Long Imprison'd Thought” 

  • Gabrielle Calvocoressi

    Issue 160, “Circus Fire, 1944” 

  • Corey Marks

    Issue 155, “Renunciation” 

  • Christopher Patton

    Issue 157, “Broken Ground” 

  • J. D. McClatchy

    Issue 152, “Tattoos” 

  • Neil Azevedo

    Issue 148, “Caspar Hauser Songs” 

  • Sherod Santos

    Issue 149, “Elegy for My Sister” 

  • John Drury

    Issue 145, “Burning the Aspern Papers” 

  • Sarah Arvio

    Issue 140, “Visits from the Seventh” 

  • John Voiklis

    Issue 139, “The Princeling's Apology” 

  • Vijay Seshadri

    Issue 137, “Lifeline” 

  • Marilyn Hacker

    Issue 131, “Cancer Winter” 

  • Stewart James

    Issue 132, “Vanessa” 

  • Stephen Yenser

    Issue 129, “Blue Guide” 

  • Tony Sanders

    Issue 126, “The Warning Track” 

  • Donald Hall

    Issue 123, “Museum of Clear Ideas” 

  • Christopher Logue

    Issue 117, “Kings” 

  • Jorie Graham

    Issue 110, “Spring” 

  • David Lehman

    Issue 106, “Mythologies” 

  • John Koethe

    Issue 102, “Mistral” 

  • James Schuyler

    Issue 96, “A Few Days” 

  • Gjertrud Schnackenberg

    Issue 94, “Imaginary Prisons” 

  • Sharon Ben-Tov

    Issue 93, “Carillon for Cambridge Women”

  • Gerald Stern

    Issue 83, “Father Guzman” 

  • Frank Bidart

    Issue 80, “The War of Vaslav Nijinsky”

Winners of The John Train Humor Prize
  • Dan Leone

    Issue 125, “Spinach 1991” 

  • Robie Macauley

    Issue 114, “Silence”; “Exile”; “Cunnning” 

  • Padgett Powell

    Issue 115, “Mr. Irony”; “Mr. Irony Renounces Irony” 

  • Edna O'Brien

    Issue 110, “Dramas” 

  • David Foster Wallace

    Issue 106, “Little Expressionless Animals” 

  • Stephen Dixon

    Issue 97, “Goodbye to Goodbye” 

  • T. Coraghessan Boyle

    Issue 93, “The Hector Quesadilla Story” 

  • Paul Spike

    Issue 49, “Specks Saga” 

  • Mordecai Richler

    Issue 42, “A Liberal Education” 

  • Rosalyn Drexler

    Issue 38, “Dear” 

  • Stanley Elkin

    Issue 32, “The Great Sandusky” 

  • Hughes Rudd

    Issue 26, “Miss Eulayla is the Sweetest Thang” 

  • Bowden Broadwater

    Issue 25, “Ciao” 

  • Terry Southern

    Issue 21, “Grand Guy Grand”